The Capital Chamber Choir
The Capitol Chamber Choir

The Capital Chamber Choir is a dynamic and youthful ensemble of advanced singers from the Ottawa region. It was founded in 2009 by Sara Brooks as an outlet for Canadian and local music, and to showcase the exciting variety within the contemporary choral music world. The Capital Chamber Choir has become well-known on the Ottawa choral scene for its energy, versatility, and high-quality performances.

Since its inaugural year, the choir has been committed to showcasing a wide range of Canadian choral music, including works by Timothy Corlis, Eleanor Daley, John Estacio, Jocelyn Morlock, Imant Raminsh, R. Murray Schafer, Peter Anthony Togni, Healey Willan, and Ottawa-based composers Steven Gellman, Frederic Lacroix, Timothy Mott, and Nicholas Piper. Although the Choir’s programmes are composed predominantly of Canadian repertoire, they have also featured international composers such as Ola Gjello, Morten Lauridsen, Eric Whitacre, and John Tavener.

Jamie Loback

Jamie Loback has been the Artistic Director of the Capital Chamber Choir since the fall of 2012. He is an active choral conductor and organist in the Ottawa area, and was recently appointed Artistic Director of the celebrated Ottawa Regional Youth Choir. Jamie was the Children’s Chorus Master for Opera Lyra Ottawa’s recent productions of Puccini’s La Boheme and Bizet’s Carmen, as well as the Alberta Ballet’s production of The Nutcracker, in collaboration with the National Arts Centre Orchestra. He is also the director of the Ottawa Catholic School Board’s Chamber Choir, an auditioned ensemble of advanced secondary school musicians, and for over nine years he has served as Director of Music at St. Joseph’s Parish, conducting the Church’s three choirs.

Rise Up, My Love, My Fair One (Willan)

Togni’s Requiem et Lux (with commentary)

S5 Box